There’s hysterectomy and there’s hysterectomy…

One thing I’ve learned over the last few weeks and months is that no two hysterectomies are the same, at least not from the woman’s point of view.

I’ve learned that there are four different types of hysterectomy and three different ways of having it done. Check out here if you don’t believe me – you’ll need to scroll down.

I’ve had a total abdominal hysterectomy with bilateral salpingo oophrectomy (thankfully shortened to TAH&BSO), which is just about the most invasive one you can have. I’m very lucky to have only had fibroids and not any form of cancer as a radical hysterectomy is even more traumatic than what I’ve had. I’m also lucky in having a horizontal, bikini-line incision rather than a vertical one, but apart from that, it’s been pretty intrusive and debilitating.

I must admit to feeling a bit jealous of women who’ve managed to ‘get away with’ having their procedure performed laproscopically (keyhole) or vaginally (no explanation needed!), although I suspect they’re just as traumatic in their own way. I can’t help thinking, though,  that I wouldn’t have had the wound issues I’ve had (more about these at a later date) if I’d had smaller incisions rather than one long one.

As far as I can see, this variety of kinds of hysterectomy and types of surgery really does mean that no two hysterectomies are the same, especially when you take into account the health and lifestyle of individual women.

When I was offered my hysterectomy, I rather naively thought I knew exactly what he was talking about. I knew I would lose my womb, and I might lose my tubes and ovaries. I was shocked to hear he would also remove my cervix, and realised with something approaching shame that I didn’t really know how I was ‘built‘ inside. Time to consult Dr Google again.

So – I lost my uterus, fallopian tubes, ovaries and cervix all in one fell swoop, leading to a surgical menopause, which does what it says on the tin. Hot flushes within hours of coming round from surgery – more about this pleasure and others in a future post.

My surgery was booked for 13th June, this year (2016).

 

Leave a Reply

